They Took My Laughter – A Poem for Halloween

Yes! It’s Halloween again and to celebrate this event, I’ve penned something for you readers. I’ve done the same last year titled Clown so you know where I’m going with the poem below. I hope you like this so Happy Halloween to all of you!

They took my laughter, they ate it all
I could hear it trapped in countless mouths
slowly trickling from their greedy lips.

But I’ll get back what’s mine,
when night descends so it will begin
I shall harvest what I’ve sown

as you sleep, oblivious to the world
unaware of the shadow that creeps
silently towards where you lie

blind to the rage that burns behind
this white painted face with the red, red smile
and the sliver of light arcing towards you

I will take back what’s mine,
reap my laughter from your screams
I will take them all, laughing with glee

-©The Elusive Scribe 103114-

Leave a comment