Close to You

That’s all I ever wanted
to be near you
as you down that drink
sitting in front of you
while you watch tv
oblivious to the world
as always

I come closer
inching my way
to your shoulders
my hands longing
to caress your neck
with the lightest of touch

Your skin breaks into goosebumps
as you feel my presence
like a whisper of breath
touching you
chilling you
making you turn around
yet you don’t see me

But I’m close
as you turned back to the screen
laughing at the silliness
thinking that someone’s behind you
oh but I am
I am and you don’t see me

And when finally I touched
your bare flesh
you screamed and threw your beer
and I was stunned
drenched in your liquor
hurriedly running away
from the fear I saw in your eyes

Oh how I weep
as I scurried back into the darkness
the walls, my lair
hiding me and my insignificant frame
while I wait
and watch
until I can come close to you
once more

-©The Elusive Scribe 042114-

Leave a Reply

