Ballet Slippers

for a poetry writing challenge

for a poetry writing challenge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The light slowly creeps in from the broken window,
touching gently fading memories of music and you.
You used to wear these ballet slippers in the shadow,
emerging from the darkness all radiant in blue.
The sweetest notes were played on this piano old
as you closed your eyes and danced with abandon,
I watched enthralled in silence outside the cold
not daring to move, not even breathe, lest I cry for pardon
for breaking the magic that you weave with your feet
that you used to rob me of my senses and captivate my heart.
Yet everything is gone, you’re no longer here my sweet,
I was too late to tell you I’m ready to play my part.
To be the one you’ll only dance to as the music starts to play,
my eyes tracing your every movement like a lover’s caress,
but the table is covered in dust now, just like the words I want to say,
if only I didn’t abandon you, I wouldn’t be in distress,
that your world I used to covet has now gone and vanished,
leaving me with just a faint image of you and your forgotten ballet slippers.

-The Elusive Scribe 110413-

Leave a Reply

