I Thought I Was Strong

I thought I was strong enough to take the pain
that you handed me with your own two hands,
but it’s hard to swallow the silence that burns
the very essence of me that I’ve given to you.

I thought you’d be different, cut above the fold,
but you’re just like the rest, and I’m the fool
believing the exquisite words that flowed from your lips,
drinking from them like water to quench my thirst.

I thought that waiting won’t be long,
that you’ll come and heed my call,
but you’ve shrouded yourself in your own shadows,
and now I’m just drifting on my own.

-The Elusive Scribe 101513-

Leave a Reply

