Never enough

The day is never enough to reveal what my heart secretly feels,
for the one who holds it in the palms of his hands as night closes in.
The feelings bottled up, afraid to be revealed,
lest they show how fragile this heart can be.

The day is never enough to show you what you mean to me,
that with my every waking moment your face is all I see.
And before I close my eyes and fall asleep,
your image I conjure to bring in my dreams with me.

The day is never enough to tell you the things I want to say,
because I’m afraid that when I do I’ll spill everything.
The words are there but my lips won’t part,
for guarding my heart is all that I can think of.

The day is never enough to give you all the love I can give,
for time is an enemy I cannot win against.
My hands have a lot to offer you if only you hold them with your own,
and if we could wait for the night together,I promise I’ll tell you all.

-The Elusive Scribe 092413-

Leave a Reply

