Remember Your Name

I remember your name
the same one I’ve etched on my chamber walls.
Your name that my lips often speak of,
and pray that one day you’ll hear my call.

Your name I never knew I’ll learn to love,
even from afar you’re the one I think of.
There is no escape from this that I know of,
but why would I even run away?

The way your name rolls from my lips is perfect,
for it’s spoken with all the love I bear
for the one who brought reason to my life,
surprising me from the darkness where I lie.

It’s your name that lights my world
the reason why I want to wake up in the morn,
because I know you’ll be around.
And if I could hold the time just to keep you close,
I would be holding it hostage so you won’t have to go.

I remember your name
even when I close my eyes at night
for it’s the same name my dreams yearn for,
when darkness opens my bedroom door.
I would snuggle under the covers holding your name in my heart,
for every beat it gives is always for you,
hoping that one day yours will beat for my name too.

-The Elusive Scribe 091613-

Leave a Reply

