I fell in love with the idea of love, and it was just a sad thing to feel.
For I once hoped for a knight in armor white,
to come and sweep me off my feet.
Or perhaps someone who’ll serenade me
as the stars in the night sky shine bright.
Or a poet who will woo me with words,
reciting poems about love to melt my heart.
Or someone I can call my Romeo,
who will fight for me to the bitter end.
But all these were not real, just made up stories for kids to read.
I was disillusioned at first but that’s okay,
my reality was far better than these fairy tales.
For I found someone who is not a knight in armor white,
but managed to sweep me off my feet.
He doesn’t serenade me only when the stars are out at night,
but he sings to me sweet songs all day long.
He doesn’t recite verses of love to melt my heart,
but he woos me with his own words enough to make
me swoon completely.
He isn’t a Romeo who died in the end,
but he’s the perfect lover nonetheless.
All I know is that love in real life is so much better
than those I found in my childhood stories.
A love like this shouldn’t end just like in books,
but should last for a lifetime with just me and you.

-The Elusive Scribe 080313-

Leave a Reply

