You would have been mine

You would have been mine if only I had the courage
to give voice to the thoughts that run in my mind
and the feelings that toss and turn in my heart.

You would have felt the warmth in my every embrace

and the love that wells up inside me,
as I press to your lips the kisses I longed to give.

You would have savored the words I whisper to your ears,
as they burn their way slowly to your cheeks staining them red,
and make your heart beat faster than ever.

You would have been mine, my sweet, not just for tonight,
but the mornings too as I cuddle close to you,
holding you tight, never letting you go.

-The Elusive Scribe 070213-

Leave a Reply

