I Never Wanted

I never wanted
all the riches of the world,
for even when I’m living
in a house full of cracks and holes,
everything will look perfect
if I am with you.

I never wanted
fine jewels to grace my hands and neck.
For a crown of flowers upon my head
is more precious to me than all the gold
if it was given by you.

I never wanted
to be dressed in satin and silk,
for I am not a princess nor do I wish to be.
Even the plainest of clothes I will wear,
if it will bring that beautiful smile
to your face.

I never wanted
to be flaunted to the world,
just to tell me how much I am loved.
Even when it’s just the two of us
in our own little corner of the world,
I will still love the love you offer me.

-eamarifosque 041513-

4 thoughts on “I Never Wanted

Leave a Reply

