A Hundred Reasons

 

There’s a hundred reasons why I should run away from
you,
yet you are like a magnet pulling me back into your
arms.
This feeling of being intoxicated from your kisses,
causing swirling eddies of fire and ice in my belly,
is an eternal addiction I can’t break free from.

You’ve wrapped my heart in multitudes of strings,
with every beat of my heart they tighten so easily.
A slow burning ache starts to spread across my heart,
leaving stains of blood and lines of scars.

Should I undo the strings you’ve attached to my heart,
when we are now miles apart?
Will you still tug at them when you need and miss me
the most?
Calling me to your side to hold your hands in the dark?

There’s a hundred reasons why I should run away,
but there’s a thousand more reasons why I can’t.
I will stay bound to your arms even when all hell
breaks loose,
for the strings you’ve bound me with is the lifeline I
am clinging to.

-eamarifosque 040613-

One thought on “A Hundred Reasons

Leave a Reply

